Facing Forward

After several posts about looking back to what a great year that was, I guessed a post about what the year ahead will be like is in order. I am not a psychic to predict the future neither will I put any resolutions. We tend to say things we never intend to fulfill says our church pastor so promises to do things would be absurd. This would be more like what I would look forward to for this new year and what it has shown me so far.

It is now approximately 10 days into the New Year and things seemed to be revealing themselves little by little.

A few days ago, I was sort of sworn in as the new Youth Ministries head of our church. This has become the biggest challenge so far. Our church is one of the biggest in the metro and being the head of the youth is like leading a small country. I’ve seen the ups and downs up close from the leader before me. Kuya Mike Viernes has seen the best and worst times in his two year tenure as head and I’ve been there beside him all throughout. The same goes with Kuya Jinoe Gavan and, of course my mentor of sorts, Elder Wilson Sia II. I’ve seen them operate. I’ve seen the programs that they’ve conceptualized. I’ve been into most of them as well. Yet, I can’t seem to see myself filling their shoes. Ever since, I’ve been more like a gopher, someone most people would order around to do things. I’ve never imagined myself to be at the top. Yet, here I am. I really don’t know what to do.

10 ministries and counting. It is called the Youth Ministries because it is a conglomeration of ministries sponsored or operated by young people from 16 to 35 years of age. This is not including the small groups and the classes. Imagine the numbers. In the past retreats, more or less 60 people would join and even more would like to express their desire of joining if it were not for conflicts with the schedules. I wanted these ministries and small groups to have some sort of synergy and cooperation. Everyone knowing at least knows some people from other groups. Not just the prominent ones, everyone get to sympathizing with and sharing each others’ burdens.

For starters, the burden does not rest on the head alone. I have to pick out people who could share it with me. This includes the past leaders. I was behind them during their time, I know for sure they’re behind me today. Before the year ended, I also picked out people and formed committees who would help me out with the tasks at hand. They are people who I know would do anything for God’s work and would give me more than adequate inspiration to keep going even if things took a wrong turn.  I pray that things will look brighter with them around.

With that settled, I look forward to big changes in my life. I don’t know how I suddenly woke up realizing that I needed to change my looks and make myself more “marketable” according to some of my YM friends. I guess I still owe it to that certain someone I didn’t mention in my previous post. I wanted to look cleaner and younger yet still maintain that modesty that God wants for us. I don’t want to be caught wearing things that would make me look like from a gangster movie or something like that. I don’t know what I want to look like really. I just wanted to look nice and comfortable.

I guess losing weight was part of it. Then comes the hair. Our youth pastor even commented that basing on the pictures from high school, my hair style never changed. This was probably why my classmates would say that I didn’t change ever since high school. With a change in weight, and in hairstyle, I need to change wardrobe. My clothes right now are all baggy and loose. I’d look like someone from a hip-hop group even in my formal clothes. I needed something slim fit and edgy. My sisters were there to help. I just hope they are right. After the weight, the hair and the wardrobe, I’m not sure if there should be a change in outlook or behavior. Probably. Maybe. Do I really have to?

There are a lot of things I really look forward to for this year. One of them is a love life. Like the interest in being aesthetically appropriate, I just woke up one day to realize that I needed someone special in life. I guess with this one, I’d let God handle it. I don’t know which direction I’d go yet. One thing is for sure though, I’ll wait for the Leader’s command.

Again, I expect myself to post more insight with all my blogs this year. I hope that I could improve as a writer and learn a new craft as well. Whichever it is, I’m sure it’s something that could be used in the Lord’s work.

For this year, I look forward to getting closer to God, keeping in close touch with Him all through out my life.

4 thoughts on “Facing Forward

  1. Wow! CONGRATULATIONS WORTHY!!!^_^ You deserve to be on top right now and be the head of the youth’s ministries department. God has been with you in the past and surely He will never stop being with you. Specially now that you have a great task ahead of you. Remember that God is there all the time! I’m so happy for you!!!GOD BLESS and all the best in you. ^_^ Read Joshua’s story, TAKE COURAGE!^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

