Preparing for the End

photo retrieved from google.
photo retrieved from google.

Because I can’t find any good examples, I’ll just make fun of myself.

I am a worry wart during December.

For someone who works as a consultant therapist, losing one day means a lot, much more, losing two weeks of work. Usually, the clinics are on break for two weeks on December. Hurray if you’re an employee who would still be getting a salary and a 13th month on top of that. But that is not the case for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThus, I dread every December. Where I once could treat people to snacks (ask my friends, I rarely never do), I become more stingy than a sting ray. Aside from that, I begin to forage. The gifts that I give are on a very limited budget with the feigned reason that it’s the thought that counts. I try my best to spend a bare minimum like less than a hundred pesos per day. I try to limit other activities or events or dinner outs that could pose a threat to my already dwindling bank account.

I’m not sure with my other colleagues, but December and Christmas has become a dreaded word for me in terms of expenses (actually, I think most of us do think of that).

I’m always bracing myself for the worst.

That’s my December routine for the past four years. Funny thing is that most of the time, I end up still having enough. God is good.

images (8)While I live through this December scare every year, I’ve recently learned about some people who were scared all their lives. They live a life full of fear of things that are actually imagined. After all, that is what fear is, imagined. Fear, according to our grow module, “is a strong sense of an impending harm or threat towards something or someone.”

You perceive a threat, you feel fear. Most of the time, these fears, any fear for that matter, are baseless, exaggerated and never happened.

I’ve recently watched the National Geographic feature on Doomsday Preppers. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. People were so engrossed in preparing for something they are afraid would happen. What’s funny is that none of those are close to happening at any moment. They are storing lots of things, building lots of structures and preparing for the worst things that would happen. All of them perceived.

10339115-december-21-2012We can say that those things happen: economies collapse, solar flares raze the earth, an asteroid hit the planet, a giant volcano erupts, or any other catastrophe (and I believe any of those would happen). Is survival the whole point? Or have we been swallowed up by the media and by fear that we think that we need to survive this and then rebuild?

If yes, then we miss the whole point of doomsday.

For all we know, dooms day is a good day. Doomsday is actually the prequel of things to come. I should know because I am a Prepper myself but not like them.

Matthew 24 tells us that these things will happen, but these things are just hints of things to come. The main event is the return of the King. Not Aragorn, mind you, but Jesus the Christ.

 “for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night. While people are saying, “Peace and safety,” destruction will come on them suddenly, as labor pains on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape.

But you, brothers and sisters, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:2-4

They are labor pains, pains that would indicate the real event. Those catastrophic events are mere undercards for the real fight, the triumph of good versus evil. And we should not be afraid, because we know the outcome and we know who will survive.

So how do we survive if this really happened?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe real preparation is not who has the most secure vault-of-a-home, or who has the most stocked food, or who has the most armaments, or who has the most brilliant escape plan. Dooms day preparation is the preparation of the heart and mind to live a Christ-like life. The one who has made himself or herself filled with the love of Christ is the ultimate survivor.

We are to prepare for the main event. Not the undercards.  Or else we end up like this:

“And he told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest.  He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’
“Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain.And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’
“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’
“This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.”
Luke 12:16-21

Live Christ’s life, not of fear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

