Love. Life. Learning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And you ask me what I want this year

And I try to make this kind and clear

Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days

So what’s so new about the New Year?  Sad stories of death and dying have greeted us early in the year. Kids who died at the hands of unknown gunmen were the headlines at the start of the year. These men probably thought that guns were a perfect substitute for firecrackers.

What a way to greet the New Year.

Talk about a BANG!

This year, we could consult psychics and other supernatural experts to tell what would happen to us this year. We want an assurance that this year is going to be good to us. We want the idea that this year will bring us good fortune or good profit. We think that this year would open up new doors for us to explore and see.

Come to think of it though, the year cannot do any of those to us. Instead, it’s the other way around. We get to change the year. The year can’t be good to us, it cannot do anything to us but tell us how much time we have left. We are the ones who would determine if there’s anything good happening this year. Best course of action is to leave it to the capable hands of the one who made everything here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cause I don’t need boxes wrapped in strings
And designer love and empty things
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days

Better days are in our hands. My hands. Personally, this year seemed to be a year of fresh starts and empty slates for me. It’s like I just graduated from college and started working. I know that this year is a clean slate, I can feel it in my pockets and my wallet – both are clean and empty.

I won’t make any resolutions on how to start or end this year. In fact, I won’t make any resolutions at all. I never tried and never will try to specifically predict what will happen to me in the next 525, 600 minutes.

One thing is for sure, I’m inching myself closer to my Redeemer. I’d gladly rely on His capability to guide the course of my life.

431452_2997731501275_1201876170_32507154_1310941371_n

I need someplace simple where we could live
And something only you can give
And thats faith and trust and peace while we’re alive

Love. Life. Learning. Perhaps these three are just the things I would need and wish to have this year. I couldn’t ask for more. With these three, for sure, life would have a beautiful meaning.

I wonder how those things would emerge. I trust God’s providence and control is there.

Love, because we cannot live without it. We cannot simply walk away on some poor beggar on the street without your heart shattering to pieces. You don’t just put pity on some ragged children playing on the streets, you have to feel love to feel pity.

Life, because life should be lived with meaning. Everything should be larger than life to enjoy life. Service is also part of it. A life of service is a living life to the full. We leave our mark, our legacy if we learn to live life to the fullest.

Learning, because there’s a lot of things that we have to know. My mind needs its exercise.  We need to think and ponder on things about this world. Not attempting to seize control on all things and events but seeking to find a peaceful and harmonious existence with fellow humans. Learning is growth.

100_4099

And the one poor child who saved this world
And there’s 10 million more who probably could
If we all just stopped and said a prayer for them

This year for me would be a year of beginnings, surprises and endings. The end of things would actually be a new beginning. People you never thought would come into your life would come at the precise moment you least expect it to. Endings are actually learning opportunities we charge to our experience.

In the same way, what seemed to be the end at the cross was actually a new beginning for mankind. The end of His life was actually the beginning for ours.

This year, I’d start to look up to Him more. When I do, those sky shots would surely flourish this year. I feel it in my bones. There’s probably a new hope, a new song, a new life. I don’t know. I’ll just let God show the way.

I wish everyone was loved tonight
And somehow stop this endless fight
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days

So take these words
And sing out loud
Cause everyone is forgiven now
Cause tonight’s the night the world begins again

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASong: Better Days by Goo Goo Dolls
Pictures: by author

2 thoughts on “Love. Life. Learning.

  1. Hi! Your words resonates within me. I can’t imagine myself being 20 something anymore… But for one so young, you are obviously traveling on the right road. May God continue to lead you. Enjoy Life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

