Bad Days

455123_213523.jpeg

He’s not upset, so he says. Yet there’s that downcast look on his face that I just can’t neglect. He used to be that harbinger of sunshine everytime we meet. Now was very different.

I asked him, “Kuya, are you sad?”

“No.” came his prompt reply.

I tried again. “are you upset?”

“No.”

“What’s wrong? Are you OK?”

“A little bit.”

Why?” I probed.

“I don’t know.”

I tried to probe more but it doesn’t seem to work. Perhaps he really had a bad day. (Actually, later on, I learned why, but it’s a secret between the two of us.)

tiredThere are times when we wake up at the wrong side of the bed. There are times when we just have a bad hair day. There are times when we are just not in the mood. Still there are times when we just had a hell of a day.

Whatever we label it, a bad day is a bad day.

The trigger differs from person to person. One time, I felt the whole day was blown off course when I got a really frustrating message on facebook first thing in the morning. It really made me grumpy and somewhat sad that day. If I had an automatic button, I must have turned it on while at work because I was still able to perform. However, the stress and emotional load was enough to wear me out at the end of the day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnother time, I felt really bad when the things that I expected to happen turned out wrong. I expected the road to work to be flawless if not too crowded, but that day, the city government decided to make a huge repair on the seemingly not-broken road. The result was that a sweaty me entered the clinic’s front door, 20 minutes late. Adding insult to injury, all kids at that day seemed to be out of sync. Everyone seemed to be screaming, hitting and launching off tables more than their usual. Nice day, huh?

I once had this argument with a friend. What made a bad day a bad day? Is it the day or are the circumstances really that bad that it made the whole day bad? Is there really a bad day?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStands to reason, I, personally, may have had a bad day, but somewhere on this planet, someone might be a new father or a new lover or a new husband or a new lotto winner (I think the last one is not really that good). Someone on this planet might be having the time of their lives even as you suffer. This does not mean that they are bad for enjoying while you are suffering. They might not even be aware of you or your condition. The point is that a bad day could be as subjective as how the once over-glorified magnum ice cream tasted like. Some liked it, others thought it wasn’t that good.

If there was such a thing as a bad day, it would mean a bad day for all of us – something like everyone tripped and fell all over the world or everyone lost all the hair on their head. That would be a really bad day. If there was such a thing as a bad day, then this would be really invalid:

I know the Lord is always with me.
I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me.

No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice.

My body rests in safety.

For you will not leave my soul among the dead or allow your holy one to rot in the grave.

You will show me the way of life,
granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.

Psalm 16:8-11

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back at that argument, I believed that God, being the good that He truly is, never intended to create bad days. He never wanted us to be sad, angry or anxious. He wanted all the best for us. However, there are times when we fill our hearts with negative thoughts. There are times when we get distracted and fixated at the wrong things, the bad things, that we miss out on seeing the good things in life. In my case, I was so affected by the message that it became the highlight of the day. We think everything snow balled badly when in fact there are things that are worth thanking God for. There were blessing all over the day that we missed because we were blinded by our negative thoughts.

This might be a very bitter pill to swallow to most of us – especially when the media always highlight the negatives more than the positives. We tend to see more of the drama side of life and make us fail to see the blessings that God wants us to see. The primetime drama most of us enjoy watching often features tragic events that makes us melodramatic and think that everywhere we look is tragedy.

In the end, there are good things in life. God never designed a bad day for you. A bad day or a good day is just perspective. If we choose to make it a bad day, then it is a bad day for us, but if we choose to make it good, then all is well.

Let us strive for this day to choose to look at the happy and good side. The brigher side may be too bright to handle, but the darker side is always too blinding to let us see.

100_8874

am the Lord, and there is no other;
There is no God besides Me.
I will gird you, though you have not known Me,
That they may know from the rising of the sun to its setting
That there is none besides Me.
am the Lord, and there is no other;
I form the light and create darkness,
I make peace and create calamity;
I, the Lord, do all these things.

Isaiah 45:5-7

Leave a Reply

