Spoiled

100_9725

Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

–          Bless the Broken Road by Rascal Flatts

Listening to this country band’s song leads me to wonder: Are they Christians?

In this day and age, where the music is often times made of non-sensible lyrics that just keeps on repeating, and where the over-all lyrics talk about drugs, sex and alcohol, it’s rare to find a song or a set of songs that tell you to believe in God’s leading in your life. Even if it talks about finding a lifetime partner, the reference to God leading and blessing each day of one’s life reflects how the author of the song trusts his God to lead the way.

That’s something the world has forgotten.

guiltMost times we try to muscle our way out of our problems. We try a lot of mechanisms that often times lead us to perdition than solutions to our problems. Some go to vices to forget or escape their problems, hence there are alcoholics. Others try the easy way out by killing themselves and sometimes, morbid as it may seem, try to bring others along with them. Still others do try their best to solve their problems on their own strength which leads them to stress, depression, anxiety among others.

I recently discovered that God still leads and takes care of us in certain ways that may sound out of this world.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese past few days the country has been drenched by the usual torrential rains brought about by our climate. This has been happening since time immemorial hence we should always be armed with umbrellas and jackets at this time of the year.

A few weeks back, I went to the clinic drenched with sweat and rain. It was raining hard that morning that most kids had called in to tell that they weren’t coming. It’s a frustrating day. You have all those breaks but couldn’t get out because it’s raining.

Some kids did come after all. I went to work the whole afternoon and had the usual day with the kid. When I went out, the sky wasn’t as dark as before and I could walk along the streets without getting wet. I was on my way to MRT when I suddenly remembered, MY UMBRELLA!!

I left my umbrella inside the staff room to dry. I went there several times but have forgotten to fold my umbrella. In my zeal to get out of the clinic, I totally forgot to get it again. I still have to wait a few days before I could get to the clinic again to get my umbrella.

This is a bummer. It has been raining hard everyday and now I have no umbrella.

Imagine my surprise when the next day, it was totally sunny and has been that way until I was able to get back my umbrella two days later.

I don’t know what this means. It might be coincidence but I would like to think that God has spoiled me enough to take care of my needs. God has always been there, blessing us, and leading us. It just takes the right perspective to notice. Sometimes, God brings a rainy day to cancel classes to give you extra time to work on things that you were not able to accomplish during the weekend. It’s comforting to think that God has our back and gives us the time that we need.

I guess that’s what we are. Spoiled by a loving God.

100_8874

 

 

Leave a Reply

