Satisfaction Guaranteed

cropped-601250_4517506056944_1425860637_n.jpg

I received a text message today.

IMG00944-20130327-1550I wasn’t really surprised when I got it. For a few days, I’ve been seeing signs that a client is trying to worm their way out of their therapy sessions. They were trying to pile up excuse after excuse after excuse. They said that the program was not working or that their child is not doing well after the sessions. They are practically blaming the program. The funny thing was that they barely even started their therapy sessions.

I wasn’t angry, I actually pity the kid. I was expecting this behaviour from the kid’s parents from the start. Given their track record, I wasn’t the first therapist they left. They blamed the therapist, the program and all external factors because they think that their child will change in a few days of therapy. I pity the kid because he was not allowed the liberty to change and improve. I pity the parents because their love was inflicting harm more than good.

I was thinking how loving the kid’s parent could be that they try their best to shelter the kid. Any amount of distress or change in his behaviour, they instantly blame others. The distress is actually part and is a companion of the program to enable the child to communicate. They thought of it badly.

You simply just can’t satisfy anyone.

~~~

I’m here in a coffee shop that sells great Belgian chocolate drinks and iced tea. coffe shopThere are electric outlets for any gadgets under each table. There is a fast WiFi connection, good music (sometimes Bob Marley!!) and the best part is that I am left to myself. Last month, since I decided to replenishing my blog, I have been writing here.

I won’t tell you where it is.

I won’t tell you my schedule.

This is my hide out now.

I am satisfied.

Satisfaction is when you feel at peace in a place.

~~~

I had my first massage amidst the beautiful beach of Boracay Island.

Yeah, I thought it was over rated too, but I enjoyed the experience. I went there to have a deep massage and then go home.

IMG00898-20130317-1217Seriously.

No swimming. No snorkelling. No banana boat. Just a massage, then swoosh, back to Manila.

But I totally enjoyed the experience. I now get a massage once every six months or whenever I feel like it. I love it especially after a long day at work.

I could sleep soundly after a good back rub.

I can say that I feel satisfied.

Satisfaction is when you feel that you have been served well.

~~~

I just came from a client conference with other professionals and colleagues. This conference was regarding a kid I have had for more than 4 years.  It was my first and only this year.

chairNot that I have many. In fact, I can only count 5 times I have been in this kind of conference and on all of them I was silent. For the most part, I could say that I am still a noob in my profession, therefore all conferences like this a huge learning experience for me. I wanted to learn how my kid operates in other settings and this is exactly how I get to know it better. More than that, I get to mingle with other notable distinguished professionals who work with the kid. I felt part of the avengers or the justice league or something like that.

Today, I noticed that tears were almost escaping from our team leader’s eyes. She facilitated as best she could with help from the Developmental Paediatrician. I can see her small smile and that proud look as the improvements were disclosed. I can also feel her cringe as the difficulties of the child were being discussed. I can see that her eyes were changing from white to red as she tried her best to suppress the tears. She was one brave facilitator and a braver parent as her child’s difficulties were being exposed.

The best part of the day was when she gave each of us a heartfelt “thank you.” It was that silent-almost-a-breath but sincere thank you that you give when you were satisfied. She was satisfied with us.

I guess she wouldn’t allow me to handle her child for more than 4 years if she wasn’t. To feel that someone was satisfied with what I have shown their child is enough to make me feel satisfied. It makes me love my job more.

Satisfaction is when you have given your all and get unexpected benefits at the side.

~~~

“And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good.” 

Genesis 1:31

God was satisfied when he created us. He said that it was good. That includes us.

“Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.” – Isaiah 43:1

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn the same manner, He offers us a place beside Him. He offers that blessing unlike any other. He offers us to sit beside Him and talk or just listen to the sounds of the wind and everything else He has created. He offers a service for us that cannot be done by any king, president or world leader.

When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.

For I am the Lord thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.

Isaiah 43:2-3

He will not fail you. He will not worm His way out of what He has promised. He delivers and gives freely even if we do not deserve to be treated this way.He offers us a love that cannot be matched by anyone. His love allows you to grow. He does not constrict you, He frees you and allows you to grow. He is God after all.

“Since thou wast precious in my sight, thou hast been honourable, and I have loved thee: therefore will I give men for thee, and people for thy life.

Fear not: for I am with thee: I will bring thy seed from the east, and gather thee from the west; I will say to the north, Give up; and to the south, Keep not back: bring my sons from far, and my daughters from the ends of the earth;

Even every one that is called by my name: for I have created him for my glory, I have formed him; yea, I have made him.”

Isaiah 43:4-7

More than that, He even offers His own Son in exchange for you. He even allowed His son, Jesus Christ, to die to bring you back to Him.

Who doesn’t get satisfaction in that? What else could we ask for?

“God made us to magnify his greatness, the way telescopes magnify stars. He created us to put his goodness and truth and beauty and wisdom and justice on display. The greatest display of God’s glory comes from deep delight in all that he is. This means that God gets the praise and we get the pleasure. God created us so that he is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him.”

John Piper

68186_477641823846_1238650_n

Leave a Reply

