Scoring

image

“Real integrity is doing the right thing, knowing that nobody’s going to know whether you did it or not.”
― Oprah Winfrey

~~

I recently joined a wellness program with the aim of having a better lifestyle movement. Although I was one of the more deliquent members, I am still trying and applying the lessons learned throughout the sessions I was able to attend. I even still score mylf using their weekly scoring system.

image

I score myself 2 points for every time I slept for 8 hours each night, 2 points for every time I drank 10 glasses of water and 2 points for every 15minute work out.

I’m not sure if napping counts but if I try to collect all those times I was napping, I probably would have scored 3 points. Include long jeepney and bus rides to the naps and that’s a 4. Multiply that by 7 days and I get 28 points easy.

I blame the lack of water at work for losing points. If there was water, it tasted icky. I believe soft drinks and fruit juices would definitely need water to make their mixture. I guess that would count as 2 points right? So that’s 2 points per day.

I run 3x a week and walk a few miles each day after work. Not to mention, I climb once a month. I guess that puts me really over the 15minute alloted for work outs. Take note also that it takes 15minutes to run from the MRT to my work especially if I am late. It takes me another 15 minutes from the door of Jollibee or McDonalds to the countee because I really have no idea what to order. So that’s like +8 points right?

I probably should have this checked. I think I am now way over the highest mark they put on the scoring system. There must be something wrong though because I did’t lose any weight. I must be getting scammed or something.

~~~

I heard a story of a group of students who cheated on the last finals exam of their whole college life. To some of them, that was the first time they ever did it. So they say.

At that point, I guess they were honest. Afrer all, the rookie cheaters were found out by the proctor. Had they been doing that for a long time, they wouldnt have been caught. I should know because I was once rookie too.

I was never caught though.
image

Anyways, the students got mercy though. They were able to graduate and finish college but without any honors. I guess that was merciful and appropriate. However, a lot of those involved were bitter and threatened to sue the teacher and even the school admin.

Kinda like arobber accusing the victim of exposing his exploits. Was that even fair?

~~~

In our school that would have been different. I was told that anyone who was caught cheating or plagiarizing works would get maximum punishment: expulsion.

Our school had a grand and prestigious tradition that should be maintained by all its students. It is a premier institution of higher learning with honor and excellence as its standard. There only the best and deserving may enter and once you are in, it is harder to finish well. The competition was so high, and the standards were also high that most graduates succeed in their respective fields

~~~

The point though is definitely not to brag schools or to sham individuals. Neither isnit my point that it is OK to cheat as long as you wont get caught.

The idea is that beyond high grades and high intellect, values like integrity, honor and honesty still count for something. It is still an important aspect of success.

One may not be lauded with medals or high marks. But integrity and honesty has greater rewards.

~~~

“In everything set them an example by doing what is good. In your teaching show integrity, seriousness and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us.”

Titus 2:7-8 NIV

image

Leave a Reply

