Eat A Flower Gain Superpowers

20141028112340

I’ll let you in on a secret.

I used to eat flowers.

Not a cauliflower.
Not rose petal soup.

Just your regular garden flower. But before you hide all your flowers in your garden, hear me out.

20150417113112When I was a kid, my brother and I used to play in the huge garden beside our church. We climbed trees, ran around the grass, played foot ball using the fallen coconuts and eat the flowers there. I don’t know what kind of sorcery came over us back then but we really did do it.

Actually I remember.

It started with our father. He plucked a flower and called us over. He took out the tiny needle-like center that came with some clear liquid. Probably nectar.

“WHAT’S THAT?” I shouted in my loudest voice.

“Shh, keep it down!” My father scolded. “This will give you super powers.”

“Like Super Mario?” My brother asked.

“Yes, like Super Mario!”

My father offered the drop of nectar from the flower. Amused by the promise of super powers, we opened our mouths and tasted the nectar.

Suddenly I felt power coursing through my veins. I lifted the coconuts that fell on the ground. I was definitely stronger. I climbed up the tree and was already at the top before I could blink. I am faster!

I finally have superpowers!

No. Not really.

chairOf course if you were four years old and given that kind of promise, you will surely believe it. It turns out the drop of nectar had no taste and had no effect unless we were bees. We tried it again the next week still hoping for some strange phenomenon to happen. Sometimes we just took the nectar. Other times, we tried the whole flower (which tasted icky!). We stopped when our favorite spot was invaded by the presence of a talking macaque and a monkey. All kids crowded the garden that we couldn’t do it with all of them seeing us there.

So much for superpowers.

In reality, there isย a not-so-secret source of super power that exists today. You think I am joking but I am serious! There is and I am going to tell you all about it.

“Have you never heard? Have you never understood? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion.”

Isaiah 40:28-30 NLT

Our heavenly Father actually promised us superpowers. He knows that we are weak and couldn’t stand a chance in this world. He knew before hand that we needed help even if our pride and ego says we don’t. So he promises to give us superpowers. He gave us His assurance that we will have powers, the only ingredient is trust. You don’t have to eat a flower, a rock or get any sort of secret serum to get these powers.

Underdog“But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.”

Isaiah 40:31 NLT

See that? Flight, endurance and super strength. You’ll be Superman! All you need is just trust in the Lord and he will surely give those powers to you. This time, I am really positive that it is true. I have personally tried it and it really works. There is a clause though, the powers only work if you are going to do tasks that are only given by God – such as sharing His message of salvation, and living a life full of His love.

I have known people who have tried it and succeeded. They were able to hike longer distances only to reach a remote village hungry for God’s love. I have heard and met people who have tried trusting God and could go in a whole week of walking around town just to share God’s word. I could only conclude that His promise is sure and true.

Try it. I dare you.

100_9688

2 thoughts on “Eat A Flower Gain Superpowers

    1. Hmmm… I want to try that! hahaha… ๐Ÿ˜€ I haven’t thought of eating gumamela. We took all our neighbor’s gumamela to make bubbles… ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply

