Grey Hair

20151212112553.jpg
“Is this grey?” The child innocently asked.

“No. That’s white.” I sheepishly replied.

“Why is it white?” He asked again.

I thought hard for a good response.

“I don’t know. Maybe because I ate too much ice cream.” I replied. “Come on now, it’s time to work!”

I cut him off immediately before he could ask any more questions that I could not answer.

The little kid was talking about the white strands of hair on my head. I had it since fourth grade. I actually don’t mind it. I tried dyeing it before but I didn’t like the uncomfortable prospect of sitting for hours waiting for the dye to dry while trying to avoid touching any surface for fear of spreading the dark brown tint on any surface. So no dye it is. Now my hair is grayish white.

The hair stylist where I get my hair cut kept on asking me to dye it. I still don’t understand why they were bothered about it. Maybe it’s one of those unwritten social laws that men below 30 years of age should only have black hair. Social norms and rules are confusing especially when it comes to aesthetics.

I stumbled upon a mall fashion show once. I saw the pretty ladies strutting on the catwalk with their nice dresses and skirts – at least some of them were nice. Some of the outfits, on the other hand, were weird. Some were asymmetrical or had an extra cloth somewhere impractical. I really do not understand fashion. Maybe if you talk to me about good food or a nice movie, we could agree somewhere but not fashion or how society works.

20160214135841The way I see it, it is easier to appreciate something that you love. If you love the outdoors and nature, it is easy to appreciate Mt. Everest or even Bear Grylls with all of his weird food choices. If you love cars, it is easy to walk up to a complete stranger who owns a refurbished roadster and strike up a conversation with him. It is easy to walk a thousand miles just to see someone you love. Let’s face it, it is easy to do the things that we love or things for the sake of someone we love.

On the other hand, we find it hard to understand or accept the things we do not love. We cannot comprehend the views of communists if you are a democrat. It is hard to reach out to a man who is drinking by the side of the street if you do not drink at all. It is quite hard to appreciate cars if you do not know its designs and history.

The same thing happens to being a Christian. You will never appreciate any of it if you have no love for God. You cannot find fullness of life if you cannot grasp the sacrifice of Christ on the cross. Any law written on the Bible would count as a demanding, strict and impossible to follow if you do not love the God who gave the laws. Yet there are people who follow it diligently as if their lives depended on it. Yet if you look at it, God never really demanded these laws; these laws are laws of love and will be followed when you allow Christ to dwell in your hearts on a daily basis.

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. – Galatians 2:20

Love is the key to everything. God is love. Hence, God is the key to everything.

Baptism

2 thoughts on “Grey Hair

  1. “You cannot find fullness of life if you cannot grasp the sacrifice of Christ on the cross. Any law written on the Bible would count as a demanding, strict and impossible to follow if you do not love the God who gave the laws. Yet there are people who follow it diligently as if their lives depended on it. Yet if you look at it, God never really demanded these laws; these laws are laws of love and will be followed when you allow Christ to dwell in your hearts on a daily basis.” ^^* I like this line the most. Thank you for this post, Worthy. ^^*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

